A Penny for The Fool_BLURRED.png

A PENNY FOR THE FOOL

THE NEW ALBUM

Our fourth album is now available everywhere.

 

11 tracks

approx. 50 minutes

 

Music: Gion Stump & Samuel Näf

Lyrics: Gion Stump

 

Produced by Gion Stump & The Lighthouse Project

Mixed by Dave Hofmann & Marc Carolan

Mastered by Randy Merrill at Sterling Sound 

 

Strings by Dave Eggar & Cameron Lugo

SINGLES

Lighthouse_MagicLantern_transparent_2.pn

Gion Stump & The Lighthouse Project are back with their fourth studio album, "A Penny for the Fool", leaving behind the darkness they explored on the previous album "Holy Darkness". "A Penny for the Fool" searches for the boundaries between life and death, this world and the next, and finds itself somewhere between heaven and hell - on earth, in the midst of life. Amidst the chaos of the world, the protagonists long for order and explanations.

 

Once again, the band from eastern Switzerland has succeeded in creating a multifaceted album with profound and humorous lyrics that appeals to lovers of both quiet, intimate and loud, bombastic sounds. Emotional, intimate piano parts alternate with crashing drums, energetic synthesizers and lush riffs. Always present are the band's flair for big melodies and Gion Stump's narrative lyrics. The sophisticated use of strings by Dave Eggar and Cameron Lugo (Coldplay, Evanescence, Beck) also provide soothingly warm moments.

"A Penny for the Fool" was recorded in 2020/2021 at Powerplay Studios (Maur, CH), the band's own The Lighthouse (St. Gallen, CH) and Hat Creek Recording Studios (Tennessee, USA). In collaboration with Marc Carolan (Muse, The Cure, Snow Patrol), Dave Hofmann (Egopusher, Leech) and Randy Merrill (Paul McCartney, Lady Gaga, Muse), an album was created with many great songs, but also with intimate sounds. The long-time band director Sandro Horber and the Parisian photographer Marilyn Mugot are responsible for the visual realisation of the new album.

A Penny for The Fool_BLURRED.png

A PENNY FOR THE FOOL

DAS NEUE ALBUM

Unser viertes Album ist ab sofort überall erhältlich.

11 Tracks

ca. 50 Minuten

Musik: Gion Stump & Samuel Näf

Lyrics: Gion Stump

 

Produced by Gion Stump & The Lighthouse Project

Mixed by Dave Hofmann & Marc Carolan

Mastered by Randy Merrill at Sterling Sound 

Strings by Dave Eggar & Cameron Lugo

SINGLES

Lighthouse_MagicLantern_transparent_2.pn

Gion Stump & The Lighthouse Project melden sich mit ihrem vierten Studioalbum, «A Penny for the Fool», zurück und verlassen dabei die Dunkelheit, welche sie noch auf dem Vorgänger «Holy Darkness» erforscht haben. «A Penny for the Fool» sucht die Grenzen zwischen Leben und Tod, Diesseits und Jenseits und findet sich irgendwo zwischen Himmel und Hölle wieder – auf der Erde, mitten im Leben. Inmitten des Chaos der Welt sehnen sich die Protagonisten nach Ordnung und Erklärungen.

Erneut ist der Ostschweizer Band ein vielfältiges Album mit tiefgründigen und humorvollen Texten gelungen, das sowohl Liebhaber der ruhigen, intimen wie auch der lauten, bombastischen Töne anspricht. Gefühlvolle, intime Klavierparts wechseln sich ab mit krachenden Drums, energetischen Synthesizern und satten Riffs. Immer mit dabei sind das Flair der Band für grosse Melodien und Gion Stumps erzählerische Texte. Für wohltuend warme Momente sorgen auch die raffiniert eingesetzten Streicherklänge von Dave Eggar und Cameron Lugo (Coldplay, Evanescence, Beck).

«A Penny for the Fool» wurde 2020/2021 in den Powerplay Studios (Maur, CH), dem bandeigenen The Lighthouse (St. Gallen, CH) und den Hat Creek Recording Studios (Tennessee, USA) aufgenommen. In Zusammenarbeit mit Marc Carolan (Muse, The Cure, Snow Patrol), Dave Hofmann (Egopusher, Leech) und Randy Merrill (Paul McCartney, Lady Gaga, Muse) entstand so ein Album mit vielen grossen Songs, auf dem aber auch intime Töne nicht zu kurz kommen. Für die visuelle Umsetzung des neuen Albums sorgen der langjährige Band- Regisseur Sandro Horber sowie die Pariser Fotografin Marilyn Mugot.